Family Advent – Day 23

[Symbol] The Wise Men

……………………………………………………………….

[An Article/Story relating to the Symbol]

For the Full Article See here: https://www.lds.org/ensign/2006/12/treasured-giftshttps://www.lds.org/ensign/2006/12/treasured-gifts?

Treasured Gifts

By President Thomas S. Monson

 …At home in a hidden-away corner, I have a small black walking stick with an imitation silver handle. It once belonged to a distant relative. Why do I keep it for a period now spanning more than 70 years? There is a special reason. As a small boy I participated in a Christmas pageant in our ward. I was privileged to be one of the three Wise Men. With a bandanna about my head, Mother’s piano bench cover draped over my shoulder, and the black cane in my hand, I spoke my assigned lines: “Where is he that is born King of the Jews? for we have seen his star in the east, and are come to worship him.”  I vividly remember the feelings of my heart as the three of us “Wise Men” looked upward and saw a star, journeyed across the stage, found Mary with the young child Jesus, then fell down and worshipped Him and opened our treasures and presented gifts: gold, frankincense, and myrrh.

I especially liked the fact that we did not return to the evil Herod to betray the baby Jesus but obeyed God and departed another way.

The years have flown by, but the Christmas cane continues to occupy a special place in my home; and in my heart is a commitment to Christ.

For a few moments, may we set aside the catalogs of Christmas, with their gifts of exotic description. Let’s even turn from the flowers for Mother, the special tie for Father, the cute doll, the train that whistles, the long-awaited bicycle—even the books and videos—and direct our thoughts to God-given gifts that endure. From a long list I will cite just four:

  1. The gift of birth
  2. The gift of peace
  3. The gift of love
  4. The gift of life eternal

……………………………………………………………….

[Song] We Three Kings of Orient Are

……………………………………………………………….

[Scripture] Matthew 2:1

Behold, there came wise men from the east to Jerusalem.

……………………………………………………………….

[Challenge – Seek & Find] – Long ago, prophecy told of the coming of a Messiah and a new star that would appear as a sign of His birth. The Wise Men had been seeking or looking for the sign of the New King long before they began their journey. Men of science studied the night skies and when the star finally appeared, they followed it. try to seek and find something out about Jesus today.

……………………………………………………………….

 [Article/Story relating to the challenge]

To See Full Articles with Artwork: https://www.lds.org/prophets-and-apostles/unto-all-the-world/a-christmas-message-from-the-first-presidency?

 

A Christmas Message from the First Presidency

December 2015

 

“For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given” (Isaiah 9:6). The Wise Men who travelled long distances to see the divine child, whose birth had been long foretold, crossed physical and social barriers to “come … adore him”

We find the real joy of Christmas when we make the Saviour the focus of the season. We can keep Him in our thoughts and in our lives as we go about the work He would have us perform here on earth. At this time, particularly, let us follow His example as we love and serve our fellowmen.

Christmas is the spirit of giving without a thought of getting. It is happiness because we see joy in people. It is forgetting self and finding time for others. It is peace because we have found peace in the Saviour’s teachings. It is the time we realize most deeply that the more love is expended, the more there is of it for others.

 

The story of the Magi is one of absolute faith. Their journey to first identify and then follow the star—a sign from God testifying of the birth of the Saviour—attests to their spiritual sensitivity. Led by the Spirit, they completed their arduous journey. While their identity is not known, their witness of the birth of the Messiah makes clear their holy and prophetic mission.

As the Christmas season envelops us with all its glory, may we, as did the Wise Men, seek a bright, particular star to guide us to our Christmas opportunity in service to our fellowman. May we all make the journey to Bethlehem in spirit, taking with us a tender, caring heart as our gift to the Saviour. And may one and all have a joy-filled Christmas.

 

Media link: [ The Wise Men Seek jesus ]

https://www.lds.org/bible-videos/videos/the-wise-men-seek-jesus?lang=eng

 

……………………………………………………………….

10th Anniversary Advent Throw-Back :

[A Favourite from Previous Advents]

This year I stopped to contemplate the kind of gift I’d bring
To lay at the nail-scarred feet of my Gracious Heavenly King.
He’s given my very life to me, and the blessings I hold dear,
But I can’t come up with anything appropriate, I fear.
Every time I give Him something, He more than doubles the return…
I gave to Him my weakness, His strength He then confirmed
Would always be there for me to securely hold on to.
I gave Him my shattered life – He gave me life anew.

I gave Him my pain and heartbreak, all that troubled my weary soul –
He gave me hope and happiness, and made my body whole.
I gave Him all my doubts and fears, the things that stood in the way
Of my daily service in His name – He made them go away.

I offered Him my feeble voice, to sing His praise in song –
He filled my heart with a melody, that will last my whole life long.
I offered Him my hands to serve, to help out those in need,
He gave me the talent to use these tools, so that I would succeed.

I gave Him my life completely, to show His light in a world of night,
He gave me a wonderful testimony, a way to share His light.
I offered Him my eyes to see all that they could take in –
He showed to me a world of fear, unhappiness and sin.

For every gift I gave to Him, He handed back to me
Instructions for their uses – endless possibility
To reach a world that needs to find the Saviour that I found,
So on and on, I serve, for to Him in love I’m bound.”

 

……………………………………………………………….

[Colouring Page] – Right Click to Save.

day-23-the-wise-men

Leave a Reply

